Choir Uniform

My choir decided to go with a tighter dresscode, to give us a more “unified” look. Long skirt, or wide-legged pants that look like a skirt, plain top with 3/4 sleeves and a conservative round neckline. Fabric should be knit. (Previously, it was just: all black.  And people interpreted it as anything from sweatpants to eveningwear.)

Everybody is scrambling to find something as we phase in this new look… except me: I scrambled to make something. (It also didn’t hurt that Fabricmart was having a sale on ITY jersey at the time the announcement was made.) I made the HP 1190 Pull-on Palazzos (cut wider through the inner leg to be more like a culotte), and a straight-hem, extended-arm Shirt-tail T (HP 1189). I made the neckline of the Shirt-tail T more conservative by splicing in the neckline from Saf-t-pockets Simply Terrific T.

Just to be on the safe side – stage lights can make the most solid fabrics unexpectedly sheer – I lined both top and bottom with wickaway tricot.  This also helps with the unpredictability of climate conditions on stage, which can vary from frigid to tropical in the space of a single performance if you sing in drafty old churches.

I might change the top back to shirttails: in the photo I can see that it’s a little snug around the hips, which I didn’t notice as much in the mirror.

Leave a Reply

